Showing posts with label book review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label book review. Show all posts

Apr 16, 2014

Review A to Z - Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro

"Kazuo Ishiguro is an Author you wish you could be. Every book that I have read of his has had poise, elegance, uniqueness and a creativity that very few Authors are capable of. Each book he writes is vastly different from the other and leaves a mark on the reader not only with his writing abilities but the characters he creates through each of them." - Seeta Bodke

Here I introduce you to my guest author for the day. Seeta Bodke is a Bangalore based blogger, whom I met on a blogging community. She is an avid reader, appreciative of good work and quietly churns out amazing posts at her blog called "The Write Side". I requested her to do a guest post for my blog and she sweetly agreed to do a book review for letter N. So ladies and Gentlemen, without taking much time of yours, I present to you rest of the review of Never Let Me Go by Seeta Bodke.

Never Let Me Go is probably one of the finest of his works. While Remains of the Day continues to remain my personal favourite, this particular piece of work touches a chord in an entirely different way.

Kathy a ‘Carer’ for ‘Donors’ reminisces her childhood and her days at Hailsham School, esp. the friendship she shares with fellow students Tommy and Ruth. As she rummages through her chest of memories, you realize that Kathy and her friends have always been different from ‘normal’ people. They are taught by teachers called ‘Guardians’ who focus more on Arts and Humanities rather than the usual Mathematics and Science one would expect in school. As they grow up, one of the ‘Guardians’ Ms. Lucy tells them they are not ‘normal’ and cannot have babies like ‘normal’ people can. She also lets out that they are meant to be carers and then donors when they grow up, ‘completing’ their life while doing those donations. Despite the fate that has already been decided for them, Kathy and her friends lead a peaceful life completely oblivious to what the real world is really like. For them, the life that is set out for them is what is ‘normal’ and it is what they live for.

Her friendship with Tommy is one with a depth of emotion and attachment which does not result into a relationship of love. Not until much later, when Ruth confesses to have let her jealousies keep them apart. All this; despite the knowledge of how short their lives really are.
As Kathy took me down her memory lane, it made me realize how uncertain life actually is and how despite all odds, we learn to live with what we have.

Kazuo Ishiguro as always does a brilliant job of presenting the past, esp. of portraying incidents across time while efortlessly moving forward and back to tie them all together. The vivid descriptions he gives to each of Kathy’s memories makes you feel as if you have lived all of them along with Kathy and her friends. Certain incidents stand out for e.g. the absence of a imagery description of Norfolk makes the students feel it is a long lost place in England where all long lost things could be found. When Kathy finds a copy of her lost music tape in a second hand shop in Norfolk, that story Ishiguro had built comes to life. Similarly his descriptions of the surroundings make you visualize places as if you have been there.

Ishiguri weaves this sinister yet tragic tale of clone programs for organ donations entirely based on emotion without relying on scientific research for emphasis. His ability to portray the sentiments is what makes this book stand apart.

‘Never Let Me Go’ a song from the tape Kathy owns sums up this moving story of how cruel the world can be. While Kathy imagines an impossible dream of having a baby when she hears the lyrics “Never Let Me Go, Oh baby, baby never let me go”, when ‘Madame’ catches her holding a pillow and dancing to the music she sees it as a little girl tightly clinging on to her old kind world… one that she knew would not remain forever.

With Never Let Me Go, Ishiguro paints a distressing picture of how inhuman humanity can be. This book breaks your heart into tiny pieces and yet makes you marvel at the talent of this wonderful Author.

While it might make you shed a tear, do pick this book for the love of the written word. 

Apr 11, 2014

Review A to Z – The Joy Luck Club

Here comes my first book review of the challenge. TheJoy Luck Club is a fiction by Amy Tan. I got this book to read as a part of our little book club that I am part of (some of you know about it already) and scheduled to read it during April. But as fate would have it, I ended up getting this book in March and immediately began reading it. Just about ten pages into the book I got a review that it was sort of boring. My expectations were low. However rules demanded that read it and I am super glad that I did.

The Joy Luck Club is the story of four American daughters and their Chinese mothers who moved to USA during the war. The story moves from past to present, while mothers remembers China and daughter struggle to understand. It gives us insights to Chinese traditions, customs, families and culture in China and in USA.

Each character in the book is well defined and seems to be the protagonist in its own ways. When the book ends, it leaves you with a sense of longing for more. It appears that the author has purposefully left the endings slightly open ended where life has not come to a full circle just yet.

The word Amy Tan used are easy to mouth but the names are a bit too much to remember. It is a book that can be read and re-read and reveal something new when picked up for the third time. It is over many generations and many lives and yet so simplified and neatly arranged.

I found myself going back and forth at times but I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. It is one of those books that I say “remains in you”.

A 4.5 out of 5 for this book.

P.S. – If you want to read it, I would love to share it. Also, I got to know while writing the post, that it is also a motion picture.

Linking it to UBC and A to Z challenge.

Have you found Shades of Life on Facebook yet? Please check it out here

Please take out time to read more about the featured blogger for the month of April here.

Guests are always welcomed at Shades of Life. Drop me a line at and I would love to share your thoughts here.

Mar 20, 2014

Book Review – Hold my Hand by Durjoy Dutta

Contrary to what you might be thinking, this is not part of a book review program by any group. This book was released in 2013, and I had not realized its presence on any bookshelf until this Saturday.

Bored and idle, my restless mind got diverted to my friend’s bookshelf and there, midst of all spiritual and self-learning books rested “Hold my hand by Durjoy Dutta”. I picked it up, turned it around and started reading. Primary reason – I was too tired to read a “heavy” book. Secondary reason – the cover looked cool.

I read three chapters of the book while my friend made tea and then asked her to borrow it. Once back home, I killed my Sunday reading it.

Well! The book. Maybe because the author mentioned the book twice, I strongly feel that the writing is inspired by the famous “The fault in our stars”. Set in Hong Kong, it revolves around a lanky teenager and a beautiful young but blind girl. Just like romantic movies, they meet by accident and a romance blooms until the villain comes in picture.

I found the book quite smooth. I cannot say it’s boring, but it couldn’t grip my attention. Story was quite predictable, maybe because a lot was already said in the blurb. There are few characters without a specific need but they add to the story.

All in all, between a biography and a memoir, the book gave me a good light read to spend my Sunday. I'd rate the book a 2.5 out of 5.

Have you found Shades of Life on Facebook yet? Please check it out here

Please take out time to read more about the featured blogger for the month of March "Aditi Kaushiva" here.

Also, check out the post by a non-blogger who penned down her feeling.

Guests are always welcomed at Shades of Life. Drop me a line at and I would love to share your thoughts here.

Mar 12, 2014

Book Review - Double Jeopardy

Before I begin the review, I’d like to give a highlight of my day on which I downloaded this book from Indireads, i.e. yesterday.

My day yesterday began at 5 am and consisted of 600 km travel through the day. It was supposed to end at 10 owing to a headache. At about 9.45, just checking mail before I slept, I decided to download the book from Indireads and prepare myself to read it the next day.

One the download was completed, my phone automatically opened the file for me to preview.

What began as preview of the book at 10 pm, ended at 1.30 am in completion of the book.

The write-up:
Sanya last saw the twins, Arth and Ansh Sharma, when she was ten years old. Now, all grown up, she has come looking for gentle Arth, the twin she has loved ever since she can remember. But instead, she is confronted with fiery Ansh, who is hell-bent on seducing her. And what’s worse, she can’t seem to stop herself from responding to him.
As she chases Arth and is chased by Ansh, Sanya finds herself on a crazy roller coaster ride with no way of getting off. How will she deal with these two very different men in her life? Will she be able to convince one twin that she loves the other?

My take:
The story is simply written and characters are nicely woven into the story. Each character plays his part well and the story keeps on edging you to read further. Sometimes it reminded me of romance of Mills andboons and some times emotions of Cecelia Ahern

A complete story, well rounded in 56 pages, Double Jeopardy is what I say a good light chick-read. I rate the book a 3 out of 5.

P.S. Thank you Sundari Venkatraman for sharing the book for review.


Have you found Shades of Life on Facebook yet? Please check it out here

Please take out time to read more about the featured blogger for the month of March "Aditi Kaushiva" here.

Also, check out the post by a non-blogger who penned down her feeling.

Guests are always welcomed at Shades of Life. Drop me a line at and I would love to share your thoughts here.

Mar 5, 2014

Book Review - To kill a mocking bird

I recently finished reading “To kill a Mocking bird” (50th edition) by Harper Lee and the prompt for review has come just in time. Yes, it is astonishing that I had not read this book for so long. But even though they keep telling that don’t judge a book by its cover; I do so more often than not and end up delaying many reads like that.

When I began reading the book, I had to force myself to keep going. I was surprised that how people liked it. But when I shared my thoughts with others, many said that they felt the same thing and I must not give up.

The story revolves around an eight year old girl Scout and her brother Jem. Their obsession with a neighbor who never stepped out of his house was sometime hilarious, sometime boring. As the story goes along, the case of negro alleged for a rape evolves the characters and makes the story gripping.

The second half of the book is so gripping that it was tough for me to put down. A tale so innocent yet so profound, is a wonderful mix which rightly makes it a bestseller for many years.

My rating for book is 4 out of 5.

Linking it to Write Tribe Festival of words Day 3 and the prompt today is Book review.

Have you found Shades of Life on Facebook yet? Please check it out here

Please take out time to read more about the featured blogger for the month of March "Aditi Kaushiva" here.

Also, check out the post by a non-blogger who penned down her feeling.

Guests are always welcomed at Shades of Life. Drop me a line at and I would love to share your thoughts here.

Dec 6, 2013

First phone call from Heaven by Mitch Albom

I am one of those people whose faith in afterlife lies at somewhat threshold.

Mitch Albom’s First phone call from Heaven tests that faith.

When a young girl announces that she received call from her dead sister, media turns all its attention towards her. What follows is the series of believers and non-believers, others who receive calls and many who wait for calls.

Mitch Albom has wonderfully covered a situation from all angles. He shows us obsession of believers and anger of protestors. He shows us how church loses its faith and town mayor sees it as an opportunity.

Amidst all this, there is a man, coping up with his wife’s death, resolves to get to the bottom of the story.

Was the phone calls part of a big plan? I’ll rate the book as 4. It is a wonderful gripping read. 

Linking it to NaBloPoMo - 

Oct 1, 2013

Little (long) note of goals, achievements and awards

A new Ultimate Blogging Challenge begins today. 31 days, 31 post, one post each day… it took me quite a self-motivation to sign up for it. I remembered July and the nightmare of searching through topics, words and many times time and battery in my phone to do so. However, a round of conversation with my blogger friend Richa and I managed to sign up.

For last couple of days of September, I have been thinking about writing little achievements and goals.

For starters, somewhere in August I challenged myself to write 30 book reviews in 30 days. Though, the 30 days turned out to be 50 but with help of many fellow bloggers, I completed my last post yesterday.

September also bought me two little awards from my blogger friends.

First was Liebster Award shared by Meera of A Rat’s nibble. While sharing her award she asked certain questions…the answers to which go here –

1. What is the best word to describe you?
2. Tell me your wildest fantasy.
To sit at northpole
3. What scares you the most?
4. What is the best trick you think you have done to impress your crush but turned the other way?
I tried to draw attention by dropping the pen, but the teacher caught thinking I was cheating. It was a mess.
5. One ingredient for happiness.
Smile and let go.

Second award came from Ashish of My umpteen thoughts which was a Creative Blogger Award. I am frankly humbled to be sharing this, because if I ever have to describe my blog, creative will be the last word out of my vocab.

However, I’d love to share these awards with a few blogger friends.

Liebster Award – Preethi of A bit of this and that

Creative blogger Award – Richa Vikas Agrawal of The philospher’s stone and Nabanita of Random Thoughts

Moving on… I am sort of happy that I achieved my target of writing 30 post a month in September and reaching out to a target number of audience. Also, my first ever attempt on poem was appreciated, which made me really happy. Moreover, I resolved to start blogging for cause and encouraging others to do so. I hope I will get to read more posts on the same soon.

I am taking a little more pledge and moving on to explore the fiction writer in me. Starting today, I will write a story (how long I still don’t know) as part of UBC. I will need all the support for this story, and I hope you like it.

For my friends who share my awards… please take out time to answer my little questionnaire.

1. Describe why you blog in one sentence?
2. One place that you want to visit the most?
3. Which color defines you the best?
4. What is one thing that can cheer you up on a blue day?

P.S. This isn't my UBC post. It is just a mark of another begining. More like talking to myself and my friends here. Do come back to read the first post of UBC later today.

Sep 30, 2013

Day 30 – Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

For this special day (special because it is the last day of my 30 day project), I searched and searched for a special book and delayed the post by another two days (the 30 day project turned out to be a 50 day project) but in the end my Goodreads list came handy.

Persepolis is the only book I hadn’t reviewed amongst the Top rated books on Goodreads shelf. Also, it is different than any other book that I have read/reviewed.

Persepolis is a memoir of Marjane Satrapi in form of comic-strips when she narrates her growing up years in Iran. It beautifully describes growing up in Iranian Revolution with simple yet powerful strips.
It describes the culture, the child’s views on emperors and impact of war and politics on human life.

Why I love Persepolis is because it managed to tell us so much in so little words. It is engrossing and funny, yet sad and thoughtful. It is one of the best sad stories written light heartedly. I love Persepolis because it is one of a kind. I love it because the comic strips re amazingly cute and powerful.

Persepolis is a must read. 5 out of 5 stars to this book.

Sep 26, 2013

Day 29 – The timekeeper by Mitch Albom

“Time and tide wait for none”. A phrase that we have often heard.

Mitch Albom’s latest book – “The Time keeper” is the wonderful reminder for the saying that goes on for generation.

In this story the man who first counted time is punished for counting the most precious gift. At the end of his punishment, he can relieve himself by teaching two people true meaning of his choice. And then begins his quest to save a young girl who wants to end her life and an old man who wants to live forever.

In this wonderful book, Mitch Albom once again has managed to make us introspect, subtly reminded us to not be obsessed with the world and time and live each day beautifully.

In his race against time, the father of time presents us with an engrossing story that leaves us grasping for more.

Another bestseller by my favorite author, The Time Keeper is a must read for the young and the olds. A sure gift for your loved ones. I rate the book 4.5 out of 5.

Sep 25, 2013

Day 28 – Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

As the last days of this project come closer, I bring to you more of those books from my bookshelf which are kept under a section called special. It maybe the content, narration, my relation to the book or some XYZ random reason…but these books are the ones about which I can launch into an explanation as soon as someone pick them up.

Bel Canto by Ann Patchett is also a book from the same list. It is one of the most engrossing romance/thriller novels I have ever read.

The book was released in 2001 and has won several prizes including the Orange Prize for fiction.

It revolves around the people held as hostages in Vice Presidential house while they were at a party. In this group of people there is a Chairman of large Japanese company and an American singer.

The story is short but detailed, and as a reader I had no problem visualizing the author’s imagination. It is a love story, but not entirely. It is a thriller but not brutal. It has romance but not girly.

It is a very neutral, very beautiful book that concludes without you having to make an effort to try to finish it. My rating – 4 out of 5.

Sep 24, 2013

Day 27 – The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

One should not judge a book by its cover, but when the cover itself is so captivating, one can’t help picking up the book for synopsis.

I got this book from someone and a look made me want to read it. A fantasy fiction, the only that I liked ever.

The book starts with – “The circus arrives without warning.
No announcements precede it, no paper notices on downtown posts and billboards, no mentions or advertisements in local newspapers. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.”

I must say that the book that starts with that sort of anticipation, grabs your attention in first two pages.

A wonderful book written in a spell casting prose, it leads you to a dream world of your own. The book is magical, in writing and in plot and I often wondered at the magnitude of author’s imagination.

It is a must read book. I rate this book a 4.5 out of 5.

Sep 23, 2013

Day 26 - Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Here comes another guest post for my project 30 days 30 books (which has now become 60 days 30 books, and is coming to an end with Thanks to wonderful guest bloggers who helpfully contributed to complete the project)

Nikhil shares with us a review of Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury on his blog called “Aficionado”. In his post he says – “I am so glad that I finally read Fahrenheit 451. FYI I read this book sometime back & had this review scribbled down minutes after I finished the book but never got a chance to post it .But now today’s the day. No more delay.”

In addition to the above he praises the book with - “Writing is crisp though. This book never feels as if you are reading a classic(in a “doesn’t bore you” sense) because it is so fresh & way ahead of its time that anybody who prefers staying away from classics can also give it a try.”

A little introduction to the guest – In his new yet notable blog Nikhil is doing wonderful job of writing about books and movies he’d like to read/view or has read/seen. He has his opinions and he puts them across gently. His blog carries a lot of pictures of the book/movie he is talking about.
Introducing his blog he says – “A little insight to things that i feel is worth sharing/reading or let say "Worthwhile reading" as we call it. A Slice of everything is what you tend to find...”

Coming back to the book – Had I not come across this review I would have completely missed out reviewing a wonderful book that I read years ago. One of my first classics, I highly recommend this book to all who think that the classics is not their choice.

Sep 22, 2013

Day 25 –Oleander Girl by Chitra Banerjee Devakaruni

Is it wrong to have really high expectation from an author who has delivered some excellent books one after another?

My case of reading Oleander Girl was of high expectations not met. Having read the Palace of Illusion, I was expecting magic in this book too.

Frankly speaking, the book in itself is beautifully written. Each character is well built up, layers and layers of complicated personality wonderfully explained. Confusions, misunderstanding, fear, love, weaknesses beautifully portrayed, displaying the author’s strength in building characters. However, the story is not what could keep one from keeping the book down.

Adventures of the protagonists or the problems of the characters around her, none of the stories were really gripping. Incidents over incidents make it very sad until the last fifty pages. There are hardly any moments when you can smile while reading.

Though I liked reading the book but it wasn’t something that will really stay with me. It could have been more engrossing than it was.

A good book for weekend reading if you don’t let the problems of protagonists affect your mood. A 3 out of 5 for this.

Sep 18, 2013

Day 24 – Those pricey Thakur Girls reviewed by Elizabeth

This 30 days 30 books project seems to have as many books that I haven’t read as I have. Of course thanks to my fellow bloggers who have happily contributed their reviews for the blog.

Today, I bring the review of “Those pricey Thakur Girls” by Anuj Chauhan reviewed by Elizabeth on her blog “The bookish reviews”.

Elizabeth is one of my favorite bloggers when it comes to referring to blogs for searching for books. Her blog is a wonderful collection. She is a wonderful blogger. Her reviews are straight from heart.
She says what she means.

Reviewing this book, she says – “Anuja Chauhan has included just everything to make a funny read. She is not bothered about what is totally appropriate for that 1980-1990s era, but she just want to ensure that the readers do enjoy every bit of it. I should just conclude that this is a book by an Indian author that I enjoyed thoroughly for its humor content.”

Make sure you read her blog and the entire review.

By the way have you blogged for a cause? Share with us here.

Sep 17, 2013

Day 23 – The Krishna’s Key by Ashwin Sanghi

I got this book on the basis of a review I read at couple of blogs. I spent a good part of today morning to find those reviews. After finding the two out of three reviews that I read for the book before I bought, I hereby share their reviews with you.

A review was written by a blogger whom I have already mentioned when I shared his review of The cuckoo’s calling. Yes! Its Rupertt Wind.

He says, “Setting aside these two disappointments the novel is really good and can be easily ranked as one of the few very good Indian authored book that I have read in the last couple of years. I would suggest that the any one who can get your hands one just grab it. Aside from a few glitches I pointed out, the story is fabulous, gripping and very well researched.

Second review was actually stark opposite. It was by one of my favorite bloggers – Suresh Chandrashekaran.

He concludes – “Thus, for me, it is a grave disappointment to read such a book when I was looking forward to reading a decent fantasy/thriller. After a gripping start the book degenerates into a series of lectures with just enough action thrown in every now and then to get the book to a close.
Ashwin Sanghi, however, is a pleasant surprise in the English he uses since his usage of Hinglish is sparing and restricted mostly to the dialogues of his characters. If he had intended to write a workable novel with all these theories in place, he should have opted for a longer size for the book and paid more attention to his characters.
All in all, it may be an interesting book if you like speculative theories about the myths of the past and you do not read the book expecting it to be a great thriller or fantasy.

Even though they are different, I partially agree to both the reviews. I think authors like Ashwin Sanghi bring a good change to contemporary Indian writing with their thorough researches, and decent English. I liked the book in general with a slight disappointment at the sudden end. I rate the book a 3 out of 5.

Do you want to blog for a cause?

Sep 16, 2013

Day 22 – The Sicilian by Mario Puzo

If one has read “The Godfather” the number of times I have, i.e. to a point when you know the next dialogue by Don Corleone, you must read The Sicilian.

The year is 1950. Michael Corleone is nearing the end of his exile in Sicily. The Godfather has commanded Michael to bring a young Sicilian bandit named Salvatore Guiliano back with him to America. But Guiliano is a man entwined in a bloody web of violence and vendettas. In Sicily, Guiliano is a modern day Robin Hood who has defied corruption--and defied the Cosa Nostra. Now, in the land of mist-shrouded mountains and ancient ruins, Michael Corleone's fate is entwined with the dangerous legend of Salvatore Guiliano: warrior, lover, and the ultimate Siciliano.

In this book of love, hatred, betrayal and of course the mafia wars, Mario Puzo has weaved the same magic. Although not as famous as The Godfather, this book is equally gripping. It is as thrilling as it could be, ending each page with a new fold of mystery that one wants unravel. It is a book that cannot be easily kept down.

Critics claim that no work of Puzo could match up to the legendry book, but I humbly put in my point by saying that The Sicilian is the closest.

Let me know what you think of the book if you have read it. I rate the book a full 5 on 5.

Sep 13, 2013

Day 21 – We need to talk about Kevin

For the Day 21 of my project 30 days 30 books, I choose to write about an exceptionally gripping book by Lionel Shriver – We need to talk about Kevin.

The debate on nature and nurture is ongoing for several generations. However, little has been concluded on the same.

Bringing that debate alive again, Eva (narrator) talks about story of her almost 18 year old son who is under custody for a school massacre.

Throughout the book Eva is writing letter to her husband describing the relationship they were in to birth of her Kevin’s and Celia, all the way ending at the incident of massacre.

In this gripping book, each page brings a suspense and thrill that stopped me from keeping the book down. The story is fast and travels well over the eighteen years of Kevin's life. It is a book that stays with you for long time after you have read it once.

This was my first book by Lionel Shriver and it made me read two more books by her.

In 2011, the book was adapted into a movie with same title. I am yet to see it. I rate the book a 5 on 5 for being the rarest kind of fiction.

Sep 12, 2013

Day 20 - The cuckoo's calling

Day 20 of project 30 days 30 project brings us the review of Robert Galbraith’s “The Cuckoo’s calling” reviewed by Rupertt Wind.

A mystery by Robert Galbraith aka J. K. Rowling was published earlier this year and our reviewer here says –
I would happily recommend the book as one of the finest mysteries I have ever read and when not viewed in the glitz and glamour of Potter, Mr Strike is a superior detective and a fine example of Miss Rowling Literary and Creative skills. Though slow to catch on the book itself is interesting, captivating and addictive.”

Ruppertt Wind who maintains a wonderful blog under the name of Pages off life proudly mentions that he has read 65 books in year 2013. About himself, he says, “Just someone who is one of a kind. A guy who really is destined for greatness”.

Check out the complete blog and read the book review here -

Sep 11, 2013

Day 19 - Eat Pray Love (30 days 30 books post)

The 30 days 30 books is back. With nothing big in sight, (no contests, festivals or other blogging and non-blogging priority) I believe that I can finish the remaining 12 days of 30 days 30 books at once.

Well, this won’t be done alone of course. There will be a lot of reviews shared by others. Let’s wait and see who all come up with posts for this.

But for today, I review one of my favorite books – Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.

As soon as we mention the book we think Julia Roberts and various news that flashed around her India tour for the movie. But for me it is much more than that.

For starters, I didn’t like the movie. On the other hand I completely agree with Elle which reviewed the book and said that it’s a word of mouth bestseller.

A book that became women’s secret of life has something for everyone. Whether you seek food, man or god (depending on your age and interest) there is a chapter just for you.

This is an autobiography of Liz Gilbert, post her divorce and her unsuccessful rebound. The book is divided into three parts – Eat Pray and Love, in Rome, India and Bali respectively.

My favorite part in the book is in the very beginning – in a particular moment of desperation, Liz writes a petition to God and mentally request and takes signatures from friends and family whom she know will support. I loved the idea.

The book may sound like a travelogue, a reflection, a love story, or random rant. However, more than once you relate to emotions of the author.

I rated the book as a must read – 4.5 out of 5. What re your views about this bestseller?

Sep 2, 2013

Day-18 Stephen Hawking's Black Holes And Baby Universes and other essays

I am no longer keeping of number of days I am behind in my project 30 days 30 books. Having read over 500 books in my life, I am surprised that I can’t think of thirty books to review. Shame on me :(

But thank God that the world still has some goodness left. Therefore, I keep meeting bloggers who offer to share their review on my blog.

Here is another one from Adarsh. Through his blog Adarsh posts various reviews – books, movies and other stuff. Personal opinion – his movie reviews are awesome. There are also certain short stories and debates on current issues. All in all it is a nice blog which is worth a visit. Check it out here.

Through that nice wonderful blog, Adarsh has shared with us the review of Stephen Hawking's Black Holes And Baby Universes and other essays.

A collection of Stephen Hawkings interviews and essays is something that I would never be interested to read had I not come across this review.

In Adarsh’s words – “On the whole, "Black Holes and Baby Universes and other essays" is a very good read (at least for a scientifically non-inclined person like me). Hawking's writing is good and to the point, and his sense of mild humour ensures that all is not dull. Regardless of your agreement or disagreement (as in my case) with the statement from the book's Introduction I have quoted above, I would suggest that you go for this one.